It is currently Wed May 01, 2024 12:01 pm


All times are UTC - 5 hours [ DST ]



Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 52 posts ]  Go to page Previous  1, 2, 3  Next
Author Message
 Post subject: Re: Colorize-Gimp win32 binary
PostPosted: Mon May 02, 2011 1:25 am  (#31) 
Offline
GimpChat Member

Joined: Apr 25, 2011
Posts: 78
Location: Taiwan
pogogogo wrote:
Thanks for the update, the new plug-in works fast and well.
The next updates to please let us know, send a message.
Once again, thanks for the nice plug. :tyspin


I just try to fix that the image too big caused by crash problem
now it seem no longer crashes
but the image result was not good.
Image

sorry for my poor English.


Top
 Post subject: Re: Colorize-Gimp win32 binary
PostPosted: Mon May 02, 2011 11:58 am  (#32) 
Offline
GimpChat Member

Joined: Apr 12, 2010
Posts: 5870
Quote:
I just try to fix that the image too big caused by crash problem
now it seem no longer crashes


Did you updated the binary ?

_________________
My 3D Gallery on Deviantart http://photocomix2.deviantart.com/
Main gallery http://www.flickriver.com/photos/photocomix-mandala/
Mandala and simmetry http://www.flickriver.com/photos/photocomix_mandala/

Image

Mrs Wilbress


Top
 Post subject: Re: Colorize-Gimp win32 binary
PostPosted: Mon May 02, 2011 5:28 pm  (#33) 
Offline
GimpChat Member
User avatar

Joined: May 16, 2010
Posts: 14709
Location: USA
It does look a little off.

_________________
Image
Edmund Burke nailed it when he said, "The only thing necessary for the triumph of evil is for good men to do nothing."


Top
 Post subject: Re: Colorize-Gimp win32 binary
PostPosted: Mon May 02, 2011 7:42 pm  (#34) 
Offline
GimpChat Member

Joined: Apr 25, 2011
Posts: 78
Location: Taiwan
PhotoComix wrote:
Quote:
I just try to fix that the image too big caused by crash problem
now it seem no longer crashes


Did you updated the binary ?


Yes, last weekend

Rod wrote:
It does look a little off.

Because it was divide into several part to process(only when image size bigger than 1400x1050)


Top
 Post subject: Re: Colorize-Gimp win32 binary
PostPosted: Tue May 31, 2011 6:35 pm  (#35) 
Offline
Global Moderator
User avatar

Joined: Oct 06, 2010
Posts: 4050
JamesH wrote:
mahvin wrote:
Does the Windows binary allow you to work on multiple images in one GIMP session? It won't allow you to do so in Ubuntu. I have to close GIMP and restart if I want to work on a separate image and this totally sucks.


if you compile yourself, you can add this line
colorizevals.marked_id = default_drawable->drawable_id;
to the file "colorize-plugin.c" as the following code show

static gboolean colorize_dialog(GimpDrawable *default_drawable)
{
   GtkWidget *dialog, *combo;
   GimpDrawable *marked;
   gint status;

   gimp_ui_init("colorize", TRUE);

   dialog = gimp_dialog_new(
      "Colorize", "colorize",
      NULL, 0,
      gimp_standard_help_func, "plug-in-colorize",
      GTK_STOCK_CANCEL, GTK_RESPONSE_CANCEL,
      GTK_STOCK_OK, GTK_RESPONSE_OK,
      NULL
   );

   gtk_container_set_border_width(GTK_CONTAINER(GTK_DIALOG(dialog)), 12);
   gtk_box_set_spacing(GTK_BOX(GTK_DIALOG(dialog)->vbox), 6);
   // add this line set marked_id to default to avoid get invalid id error
   colorizevals.marked_id = default_drawable->drawable_id;
   if (colorizevals.marked_id == -1)
      colorizevals.marked_id = default_drawable->drawable_id;
   marked = gimp_drawable_get(colorizevals.marked_id);
   if (!marked) return FALSE;


I had to come back and re-read this post to see what I wasn't getting in regards to my errors, and I quickly realized that although I did have this:

if (colorizevals.marked_id == -1)
      colorizevals.marked_id = default_drawable->drawable_id;
   marked = gimp_drawable_get(colorizevals.marked_id);
   if (!marked) return FALSE;


I didn't have this:

// add this line set marked_id to default to avoid get invalid id error
   colorizevals.marked_id = default_drawable->drawable_id;


So, I added those two lines above to my c file and recompiled and woohoo, it works. Thanks, JamesH!

_________________
"In order to attain the impossible, one must attempt the absurd."
~ Miguel de Cervantes


Top
 Post subject: Re: Colorize-Gimp win32 binary
PostPosted: Tue May 31, 2011 8:47 pm  (#36) 
Offline
GimpChat Member

Joined: Apr 25, 2011
Posts: 78
Location: Taiwan
You are welcome
Better way was use gimp_drawable_is_valid to check the drawable is valid or not

// add this line set marked_id to default to avoid get invalid id error
if( !gimp_drawable_is_valid(colorizevals.marked_id) ) colorizevals.marked_id = -1;


Top
 Post subject: Re: Colorize-Gimp win32 binary
PostPosted: Tue Sep 13, 2011 4:00 am  (#37) 
Offline
GimpChat Member
User avatar

Joined: May 27, 2011
Posts: 707
HI All

I don't know why,but when i try to colorize to brown,it gives me pink instead
any ideas?
Thank You


Top
 Post subject: Re: Colorize-Gimp win32 binary
PostPosted: Sat Nov 19, 2011 5:12 pm  (#38) 
Offline
Global Moderator
User avatar

Joined: Apr 07, 2010
Posts: 14182
I don't know how I missed this one. can't wait to try it. Thanks James.

_________________
Image


Top
 Post subject: Re: Colorize-Gimp win32 binary
PostPosted: Mon Nov 12, 2012 5:35 pm  (#39) 
Offline
New Member

Joined: Nov 12, 2012
Posts: 2
I can't see this plugin doing anything.
I am using gimp-2.8.0 on Windows.

I took the sample image from here and made it black and white with an RGB mode.
my opera com/area42/blog/gimp-colorize
I then added a transparent layer.
I then added the stripes to that layer.

When I do Color-Colorization it auto-selects the layer as there is only one choice.
I don't make any changes to the options and it runs.

But the output is still the same as if I had done nothing at all.
I still see black and white with my coloured stripes on it.

I tried compiling the source on Linux using the code from these 2 repos:
github com/weibel/colorize-gimp
bitbucket org/grimboy/colorize-gimp/changesets

But I still had the same effect i.e. no colour change.
Am I missing a trick here?
I have attached the xcf file for others to try and explain what is going on.

By the way, is the code for any changes and build/makefiles etc in a public repo?


Attachments:
odeya_grey.xcf [117.52 KiB]
Downloaded 159 times
Top
 Post subject: Re: Colorize-Gimp win32 binary
PostPosted: Mon Nov 12, 2012 5:47 pm  (#40) 
Offline
Global Moderator
User avatar

Joined: Apr 07, 2010
Posts: 14182
I ran colorfy on the background layer and ended up with the black and white with the colored stripes. I ran it again on the transparent layer and got an all black and white pc with white and black lines as seen below.

Image Image

_________________
Image


Top
 Post subject: Re: Colorize-Gimp win32 binary
PostPosted: Mon Nov 12, 2012 7:44 pm  (#41) 
Offline
Script Coder
User avatar

Joined: Feb 18, 2011
Posts: 4827
Location: Bendigo Vic. Australia
Molly there is a script called Prepare for colorize that may help, run this script on your bkg-layer first
although the script is on GimpScripts I will post for you, also if you wish to only color part of your image a selection helps.

Attachment:
FU_colorize-prep.scm [2.41 KiB]
Downloaded 204 times

_________________
Image
No matter how much you push the envelope, it'll still be stationery.


Top
 Post subject: Re: Colorize-Gimp win32 binary
PostPosted: Mon Nov 12, 2012 11:29 pm  (#42) 
Offline
New Member

Joined: Nov 12, 2012
Posts: 2
Thanks for trying Molly.
Just to be sure, as I wasn't 100% clear from your post, did you use the plugin from the first post (Colors-Colorization)?
viewtopic.php?f=9&t=1625#p20167

I tried with the fu script that Graechan posted to create the layer, then I painted stripes on that new layer before running Colors-Colorization, but I still didn't see anything other than what Molly posted.


Top
 Post subject: Re: Colorize-Gimp win32 binary
PostPosted: Tue Nov 13, 2012 11:21 am  (#43) 
Offline
GimpChat Member
User avatar

Joined: May 26, 2012
Posts: 342
Location: France
Er...
I need a piece of advice on windows installation, I placed the two files blas.dll and colorize.exe in my plug-ins user folder and nothing shows up (or if it do shows up I don't know where it is supposed to appear).


Top
 Post subject: Re: Colorize-Gimp win32 binary
PostPosted: Tue Nov 13, 2012 6:12 pm  (#44) 
Offline
Global Moderator
User avatar

Joined: Nov 16, 2011
Posts: 5128
Location: Metro Vancouver, BC
Colorize-Gimp should be in your, Colors menu, Colorization...
If you decide to use "FU_colorize-prep.scm", Script-Fu menu, Prepare for Colorize.

_________________
Image
Gimp 2.8.18, Linux, median user
Gimp Chat Tutorials Index
Spirit Bear (Kermode)


Top
 Post subject: Re: Colorize-Gimp win32 binary
PostPosted: Tue Nov 13, 2012 8:24 pm  (#45) 
Offline
GimpChat Member
User avatar

Joined: May 26, 2012
Posts: 342
Location: France
Colors/Colorization, so it shows up, thanks !

It seems promising, as well as intriguing (is this edge detection?), I managed to crash the plugin twice when using it, so far I've seen that:
- two images opened=crash
- layer named with an accented letter=crash (problematic for french users where some copied layers are automatically named calque copié)


Top
 Post subject: Re: Colorize-Gimp win32 binary
PostPosted: Tue Nov 13, 2012 8:30 pm  (#46) 
Offline
Global Moderator
User avatar

Joined: Apr 07, 2010
Posts: 14182
Thanks for the script Graechan.

_________________
Image


Top
 Post subject: Re: Colorize-Gimp win32 binary
PostPosted: Thu Jun 11, 2015 4:24 pm  (#47) 
Offline
GimpChat Member

Joined: May 12, 2015
Posts: 4694
Where can I download this plugin for windows? I downloaded the colorize zip and installed it into the plugin folder of gimp 2.8 but it does not show up anywhere. There were only two files when I extracted the zip file. Please help!! Thank you in advance.


Top
 Post subject: Re: Colorize-Gimp win32 binary
PostPosted: Fri Jun 12, 2015 12:56 am  (#48) 
Offline
Script Coder
User avatar

Joined: Feb 18, 2011
Posts: 4827
Location: Bendigo Vic. Australia
Gimp-colorize is now a default Gimp Plugin go to Colors/Map/Sample Colorize.
Pat625 there is no need to install this for Gimp 2.8.

_________________
Image
No matter how much you push the envelope, it'll still be stationery.


Top
 Post subject: Re: Colorize-Gimp win32 binary
PostPosted: Fri Jun 12, 2015 8:46 am  (#49) 
Offline
GimpChat Member

Joined: May 12, 2015
Posts: 4694
Thank you very much. I do see that on my menu. Do I need to delete the colorize files that I downloaded? Will they cause a problem if left in the plugin folder?


Top
 Post subject: Re: Colorize-Gimp win32 binary
PostPosted: Fri Jun 12, 2015 9:18 am  (#50) 
Offline
GimpChat Member

Joined: May 12, 2015
Posts: 4694
I believe the default is a different program. I was trying to get the one described on page 1 where you put the color stripes on your image. I could not get the default program to work.


Top
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 52 posts ]  Go to page Previous  1, 2, 3  Next

All times are UTC - 5 hours [ DST ]


   Similar Topics   Replies 
No new posts G'Mic colorize interactive problem

2

No new posts GMIC colorize(interactive) achieve silver

1

No new posts Printing from Gimp - Using win32 Application

1



* Login  



Powered by phpBB3 © phpBB Group