It is currently Sun Nov 23, 2014 1:38 pm


Latest GIMP Scripts & Plug-ins

All times are UTC - 5 hours [ DST ]




Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 47 posts ]  Go to page 1, 2, 3, 4, 5  Next
Author Message
 Post subject: Charcoal Script Reworked - UPDATED
PostPosted: Wed Feb 23, 2011 3:06 am  (#1) 
Offline
GimpChat Member

Joined: Oct 06, 2010
Posts: 2666
First of all, this is my very FIRST attempt to actually try to accommodate myself with an existing script, namely the recent charcoal.scm (which me and Rod asked for leaving the original layer and working on a copy at the Registry). I'm sort of glad the author showed indifference because I knew eventually it would push me into trying harder to do it myself. So I did. Took me several hours, but I figured it out.

This script now gives you the ability to leave the original layer (tick new layer toggle) and to max the original layer to the new image size (tick Max original layer toggle) should you tick the Resize for optimum effect toggle.

I've added Saulgoode's suggestion to the script and resubmitted the zipped file. It will no longer require the extend layer script to work.

The Max Original toggle calls up Saulgoode's sg-extend-layer.scm script, so grab that if you don't have it.

http://chiselapp.com/user/saulgoode/rep ... tend-layer


Attachments:
charcoal.scm.zip [2.45 KiB]
Downloaded 148 times

_________________
You cannot do a kindness too soon because you never know how soon it will be too late.

~Ralph Waldo Emerson


Last edited by mahvin on Wed Feb 23, 2011 3:08 pm, edited 2 times in total.
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Orkut Share on Digg Share on MySpace Share on Delicious Share on Technorati
Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Charcoal Script Reworked
PostPosted: Wed Feb 23, 2011 3:45 am  (#2) 
Offline
Global Moderator
User avatar

Joined: May 16, 2010
Posts: 11566
Location: "Looking for my eraser" =P
Lovely, thanks mahvin.

Image

I think if i were to select all the black in several dif layers i could color it nicely. :)

_________________
Image
____________
OK, . . . . so what's the speed of dark?


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Charcoal Script Reworked
PostPosted: Wed Feb 23, 2011 9:01 am  (#3) 
Offline
GimpChat Member

Joined: Apr 12, 2010
Posts: 5877
Do you maybe knows what the script does?
i may see the effect, i mean do you know how does that, which steps automatize ?

_________________
My 3D Gallery on Deviantart http://photocomix2.deviantart.com/
Main gallery http://www.flickriver.com/photos/photocomix-mandala/
Mandala and simmetry http://www.flickriver.com/photos/photocomix_mandala/

Image

Mrs Wilbress


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Charcoal Script Reworked
PostPosted: Wed Feb 23, 2011 9:32 am  (#4) 
Offline
Administrator
User avatar

Joined: May 22, 2008
Posts: 6285
Location: Somewhere in GIMP
I like having the original image preserved. Nice job, mahvin. :geek

Image

_________________
Image
There are two major products to come out of Berkeley: LSD and UNIX. We don't believe this to be a coincidence.

Image


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Charcoal Script Reworked
PostPosted: Wed Feb 23, 2011 10:07 am  (#5) 
Offline
GimpChat Member

Joined: Apr 12, 2010
Posts: 5877
great on the tiger !

_________________
My 3D Gallery on Deviantart http://photocomix2.deviantart.com/
Main gallery http://www.flickriver.com/photos/photocomix-mandala/
Mandala and simmetry http://www.flickriver.com/photos/photocomix_mandala/

Image

Mrs Wilbress


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Charcoal Script Reworked
PostPosted: Wed Feb 23, 2011 1:03 pm  (#6) 
Offline
GimpChat Member

Joined: Feb 06, 2011
Posts: 337
I like this Mahvin. Thanks :)


Attachments:
charcoalHiefers 2005.png
charcoalHiefers 2005.png [ 217.04 KiB | Viewed 1951 times ]
Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Charcoal Script Reworked
PostPosted: Wed Feb 23, 2011 1:23 pm  (#7) 
Offline
Script Coder
User avatar

Joined: Apr 23, 2010
Posts: 1312
Location: not from Guildford after all
mahvin wrote:
The Max Original toggle calls up Saulgoode's sg-extend-layer.scm script, so grab that if you don't have it.

http://chiselapp.com/user/saulgoode/rep ... tend-layer

It appears that whenever your version of the charcoal script calls the Extend Layer script, there is no selection present. If this assessment is accurate, it would be quite easy for your script to rescale the layer by itself, without calling Extend Layer (if there is no selection when Extend Layer is called, the script merely scales the entire layer to match the image size).

    (when (= max-original TRUE)
      (gimp-layer-scale drawable
                        (car (gimp-image-width image))
                        (car (gimp-image-height image))
                        TRUE )
      (gimp-layer-set-offsets drawable 0 0) )

_________________
A man who does not read good books has no advantage over a man who cannot read them. -- Mark Twain


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Charcoal Script Reworked
PostPosted: Wed Feb 23, 2011 2:03 pm  (#8) 
Offline
GimpChat Member

Joined: Oct 06, 2010
Posts: 2666
Saulgoode:

Couldn't you then tell it to unselect the image before scaling? I mean, I looked at different ways to make it scale, but wasn't sure what was involved in the procedures. But I knew your script performed the task. So, if I wanted to remove all selections first, then perform the code you have above, would that need to include:

(gimp-selection-none image) - ?

_________________
You cannot do a kindness too soon because you never know how soon it will be too late.

~Ralph Waldo Emerson


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Charcoal Script Reworked
PostPosted: Wed Feb 23, 2011 2:19 pm  (#9) 
Offline
Script Coder
User avatar

Joined: Apr 23, 2010
Posts: 1312
Location: not from Guildford after all
mahvin wrote:
... So, if I wanted to remove all selections first, then perform the code you have above, would that need to include:

(gimp-selection-none image) - ?

I may have missed something, but from my cursory examination of the (charcoal) script, there doesn't seem to be a selection active* at the time you perform your scaling. Performing a 'gimp-selection-none' would not hurt anything, but I didn't think it necessary (and if it were necessary then I should feel compelled to re-examine my understanding of what is supposed to happen).


* The preceding operations entail a Select By Color, followed by copy and paste. When the paste occurs (creating a floated selection layer), there is no longer any selection present (even though the display may show marching ants around the original selection), and there is still no selection present after this floated layer is anchored.

_________________
A man who does not read good books has no advantage over a man who cannot read them. -- Mark Twain


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Charcoal Script Reworked
PostPosted: Wed Feb 23, 2011 3:08 pm  (#10) 
Offline
GimpChat Member
User avatar

Joined: Jul 04, 2010
Posts: 1377
Location: Retired Moderator Slowly Returning to the Living.
When I can, I will try it out! I like the results! If you keep your original color layer, you can experiment with blend modes and see what sweet images you get!

_________________
Artists aren't crazy! We're eccentric! ~G.M. Ross

Image

My Sigs = My Photos
Check out my work at http://www.flickr.com/photos/photomastergreg.


Top
 Profile  
 
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 47 posts ]  Go to page 1, 2, 3, 4, 5  Next

All times are UTC - 5 hours [ DST ]


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 3 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  

* Login  

* Subscribe to Gimp Chat's RSS Feed    * Subscribe to Gimp Chat's Tutorial Feed    * Subscribe to Gimp Chat's G'MIC Feed


Powered by phpBB3 © phpBB Group