It is currently Thu Sep 18, 2014 9:44 pm


Latest GIMP Scripts & Plug-ins

All times are UTC - 5 hours [ DST ]




Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 19 posts ]  Go to page 1, 2  Next
Author Message
 Post subject: FX-Foundry and GAP for 2.8
PostPosted: Fri Feb 07, 2014 9:41 pm  (#1) 
Offline
GimpChat Member
User avatar

Joined: Jun 02, 2013
Posts: 1485
Location: Central Illinois
GIMP Version: 2.8.4
Operating System: Windows
GIMP Experience: Intermediate Level



I'm kind of wanting to install the full 2.8 version. I still have 2.6.11, and 2.8.4 portable. One of the reasons I'm hesitant to make the change, is because of all the scripts, etc, I already have installed in 2.6. I'm sure I'll have to find the 2.8 version of some of them. Anyways, in my 2.6 version, I have FX-Foundry installed. Is that the same as Layer FX? I can't remember. I have the LayerFX.py file already downloaded, but I don't get the header like on my 2.6. Is this because I have the portable version, and the path isn't correct? I also have the FX-Foundry .scm's, but when I put them in the scripts folder, nothing shows up when I fire up my 2.8. I'm really lost here. Here's a shot of the FX-Foundry that's on my 2.6. I really like this, and want it on my 2.8.

Image

_________________
Image


Last edited by The Warrior on Fri Feb 07, 2014 10:38 pm, edited 1 time in total.

Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Orkut Share on Digg Share on MySpace Share on Delicious Share on Technorati
Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: FX-Foundry
PostPosted: Fri Feb 07, 2014 9:47 pm  (#2) 
Offline
GimpChat Member
User avatar

Joined: Jun 02, 2013
Posts: 1485
Location: Central Illinois
Also, does the 2.6 version of GAP work in 2.8?

_________________
Image


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: FX-Foundry
PostPosted: Fri Feb 07, 2014 9:53 pm  (#3) 
Offline
Script Coder
User avatar

Joined: Feb 18, 2011
Posts: 3317
Location: Australia
While the FX Foundry pkg is easy to install many of the scripts will be duplicates of scripts you may already have, I'd suggest installing them to a new folder in your user files and pointing your preferences/scripts to it so that they are easy to remove should any problem occur

There is a 2.7 version of GAP for 2.8

_________________
Image


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: FX-Foundry
PostPosted: Fri Feb 07, 2014 9:55 pm  (#4) 
Offline
GimpChat Member
User avatar

Joined: Jun 02, 2013
Posts: 1485
Location: Central Illinois
Graechan wrote:
While the FX Foundry pkg is easy to install many of the scripts will be duplicates of scripts you may already have, I'd suggest installing them to a new folder in your user files and pointing your preferences/scripts to it so that they are easy to remove should any problem occur

Gotcha. Also, I put all the .scm's that came with the fx-foundry download in a folder, that I titled fxfoundry. That didn't hurt anything, did it?

_________________
Image


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: FX-Foundry
PostPosted: Fri Feb 07, 2014 10:02 pm  (#5) 
Offline
Script Coder
User avatar

Joined: Feb 18, 2011
Posts: 3317
Location: Australia
No and you could place that folder inside your scripts folder and set an extra preference for your user folder/scripts/fx-foundry

_________________
Image


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: FX-Foundry
PostPosted: Fri Feb 07, 2014 10:13 pm  (#6) 
Offline
GimpChat Member
User avatar

Joined: Jun 02, 2013
Posts: 1485
Location: Central Illinois
Graechan wrote:
No and you could place that folder inside your scripts folder and set an extra preference for your user folder/scripts/fx-foundry

Okay, I did that, but I can't seem to find the scripts once I fire 2.8 up. Here's a screenshot. You can see the path to my folder on the right, is the same as the path I created on the left. Man, I feel like such a noob:

Image

_________________
Image


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: FX-Foundry
PostPosted: Fri Feb 07, 2014 10:25 pm  (#7) 
Offline
GC Founder/Coder
User avatar

Joined: May 22, 2008
Posts: 4565
Location: Gimpville
The big problem with Fx-Foundry is that whoever put it together, renamed the scripts. which caused lots of problems. For example, they took a couple of my scripts, renamed them, and when someone came along and grabbed an update from me, they now had two versions of the same script under different names. It was a big hassle then and it's still causing problems to this day. Whoever made the decision to rename those scripts, needs to be smacked upside the head. :hehe

My advice it to forget about reinstalling FX-Foundry and go grab the scripts you need from the original authors. If you need a specific script that's in FX-Foundy and can't find it, just copy over that script from your FX-Foundy backup.

_________________
Image
"The only way to have a friend is to be one." - Emerson


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: FX-Foundry
PostPosted: Fri Feb 07, 2014 10:27 pm  (#8) 
Offline
GimpChat Member
User avatar

Joined: Jun 02, 2013
Posts: 1485
Location: Central Illinois
GnuTux wrote:
The big problem with Fx-Foundry is that whoever put it together, renamed the scripts. which caused lots of problems. For example, they took a couple of my scripts, renamed them, and when someone came along and grabbed an update from me, they now had two versions of the same script under different names. It was a big hassle then and it's still causing problems to this day. Whoever made the decision to rename those scripts, needs to be smacked upside the head. :hehe

My advice it to forget about reinstalling FX-Foundry and go grab the scripts you need from the original authors. If you need a specific script that's in FX-Foundy and can't find it, just copy over that script from your FX-Foundy backup.

Gotcha. I did figure out what I was doing wrong, however. When I made the path to the folder, I had fxfoundry, and on the folder, I had a gap between fx and foundry, duh. Thanks for the help guys, appreciate it.

_________________
Image


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: FX-Foundry and GAP for 2.8
PostPosted: Fri Feb 07, 2014 10:39 pm  (#9) 
Offline
GimpChat Member
User avatar

Joined: Jun 02, 2013
Posts: 1485
Location: Central Illinois
So, now I'm trying to install GAP. I have the 2.7 version. Isn't there supposed to be an installer? Here what I get:

Image

_________________
Image


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: FX-Foundry and GAP for 2.8
PostPosted: Fri Feb 07, 2014 10:58 pm  (#10) 
Offline
GC Founder/Coder
User avatar

Joined: May 22, 2008
Posts: 4565
Location: Gimpville
That README is a just a plain text file. You can open it in notepad.

This is what it says...

Copy the contents of "plug-ins" to your GIMP plug-ins folder
Copy the contents of "scripts" to your GIMP scripts folder

Not sure about those .dll files in the plug-ins folder though. I guess it's OK to install them in the GIMP plug-ins folder. Although, I would have thought they would be installed elsewhere in the path, but someone who has used GAP in Windows (Graechan) would know better than I do :hehe

_________________
Image
"The only way to have a friend is to be one." - Emerson


Top
 Profile  
 
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 19 posts ]  Go to page 1, 2  Next

All times are UTC - 5 hours [ DST ]


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 4 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  

* Login  

* Subscribe to Gimp Chat's RSS Feed    * Subscribe to Gimp Chat's Tutorial Feed    * Subscribe to Gimp Chat's G'MIC Feed


Powered by phpBB3 © phpBB Group