It is currently Sun Oct 26, 2014 5:28 am


Latest GIMP Scripts & Plug-ins

All times are UTC - 5 hours [ DST ]




Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 16 posts ]  Go to page 1, 2  Next
Author Message
 Post subject: Outline for Scanned Drawing
PostPosted: Mon Sep 01, 2014 7:54 am  (#1) 
Offline
GimpChat Member

Joined: May 26, 2014
Posts: 53
GIMP Version: 2.8.10
Operating System: Windows
GIMP Experience: Beginner Level



I wanted to color the sketches with GIMP but I was too hard to get an actual outline. What I wanted to do was to get outlines of the drawing as guides for the color but the Wand Tool is too sensitive and it even selected the deepness of the drawing and some sketchmarks. I drew this in paper (the image attached is not really mine) but it looks like it when drawn in a piece of paper. I did make some larger more bolder marks to the drawn and traced it with another paper but it does not seem easy to do. I tried adjust the composite and threshold but I can't get the outline. I tried tracing it but there are too many curves and spikes and it was a pain to do. I need to get the speed because I have to draw a lot of them, that's part of a project.

This is not the image but its here to give you an idea. Rembrant's Lion :paint

Image


Last edited by Kenlee20 on Tue Sep 02, 2014 3:45 am, edited 1 time in total.

Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Orkut Share on Digg Share on MySpace Share on Delicious Share on Technorati
Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Outline for Scanned Drawing
PostPosted: Mon Sep 01, 2014 10:35 am  (#2) 
Offline
GimpChat Member
User avatar

Joined: Aug 30, 2012
Posts: 2142
If I've understood your question, this is my best attempt to convert the above image into some sort of lineart.

Image

Here is a quick overview of the workflow used

Colours>Destaturate>Luminosity
Duplicate Layer
On new Layer
Filters>Blur>Gausians Blur and set to 5px
Colour>Invert
Set Layer to Dodge.
Layers>Merge Down
Filters>Gmic>Artistic>Dream Smoothing
Uncheck "Equalise at each Step" and set Itteraions to 10.
Colours>Threshold and drag the left slider (Black pointer) across, until the left numerical box reads about 230.
Filters>Blur>Gausians Blur and set to 1px

_________________
Image


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Outline for Scanned Drawing
PostPosted: Mon Sep 01, 2014 10:56 am  (#3) 
Offline
GimpChat Member
User avatar

Joined: Mar 10, 2014
Posts: 443
he4rty - Thank you to show the flow, you save my day!
Image


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Outline for Scanned Drawing
PostPosted: Mon Sep 01, 2014 3:49 pm  (#4) 
Online
GimpChat Member
User avatar

Joined: Aug 10, 2012
Posts: 3515
Location: Formerly From NYC, Now Living in Arizona
An alternative method would be to Desaturate with Luminosity as did he4rty, but in this case adjusting Color Curves and doing a Color To Alpha on the white.

Desaturation...
Image

Curves Adjustment...
Image

Color To Alpha...
Image

Final Workable Image...
Image

This method will retain most of the image details.

_________________
Image

"A wise man can learn more from a foolish question than a fool can learn from a wise answer."
-Bruce Lee


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Outline for Scanned Drawing
PostPosted: Mon Sep 01, 2014 5:25 pm  (#5) 
Offline
GimpChat Member
User avatar

Joined: Sep 24, 2010
Posts: 6629
Very nice flow he4rty; used it and a blending of India Ink for the result (for filler mainly). :)


Attachments:
DSC00422crp.png
DSC00422crp.png [ 79.53 KiB | Viewed 472 times ]

_________________
Lyle

Psalm 109:8

Image
Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Outline for Scanned Drawing
PostPosted: Mon Sep 01, 2014 5:28 pm  (#6) 
Offline
GimpChat Member
User avatar

Joined: Apr 08, 2010
Posts: 4010
Location: Northwest Ohio
I think I used levels to get it black and white and bring out the lines. As we all know, more than one way....


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Outline for Scanned Drawing
PostPosted: Tue Sep 02, 2014 3:42 am  (#7) 
Offline
GimpChat Member

Joined: May 26, 2014
Posts: 53
Wallace wrote:
An alternative method would be to Desaturate with Luminosity as did he4rty, but in this case adjusting Color Curves and doing a Color To Alpha on the white.

Desaturation...
Image

Curves Adjustment...
Image

Color To Alpha...
Image

Final Workable Image...
Image

This method will retain most of the image details.

Thanks guys. Can you also tell me how to create a new layer from selection?

I used the Wand for the hair and I want that to be in a new selection. I don't want to duplicate the whole thing just the hair in a new layer.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Outline for Scanned Drawing
PostPosted: Tue Sep 02, 2014 5:49 am  (#8) 
Offline
GimpChat Member

Joined: Jan 20, 2014
Posts: 26
Step 2 to 7 is the same as Edge-Detect>Difference of Guassians and set Radius1 5 px, Radius2 0 px


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Outline for Scanned Drawing
PostPosted: Tue Sep 02, 2014 11:02 am  (#9) 
Online
GimpChat Member
User avatar

Joined: Aug 10, 2012
Posts: 3515
Location: Formerly From NYC, Now Living in Arizona
Kenlee20 wrote:
Thanks guys. Can you also tell me how to create a new layer from selection?

I used the Wand for the hair and I want that to be in a new selection. I don't want to duplicate the whole thing just the hair in a new layer.

I'm guessing when you say "hair", you mean the lion's mane?
You can't create a new layer from a selection. You can only copy or cut what you have selected and paste that into a newly created layer.
Why do you want the hair/mane on a new layer?
If you want to color this part of the image separately from the rest, just create a new layer that you can use for coloring the hair.

_________________
Image

"A wise man can learn more from a foolish question than a fool can learn from a wise answer."
-Bruce Lee


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Outline for Scanned Drawing
PostPosted: Wed Sep 03, 2014 5:02 am  (#10) 
Offline
GimpChat Member

Joined: May 26, 2014
Posts: 53
I managed to work the image the way you did and I can't proceed with he4ty's tut because I can't see the G'Mic thing in here.

I need to color them separately. I'd like to use the Wand Tool to select the hair (mane for example) and import it as a separate layer so I can easily color them.

How do you make sure that all is in the same color? The image still has some shades with it. I can't see what the dream-color was so I guess its something you download? But due to the slow internet connection we have here it does not go as fast as desired. That's why I use the Want to select and color each to avoid separate shading.


Top
 Profile  
 
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 16 posts ]  Go to page 1, 2  Next

All times are UTC - 5 hours [ DST ]


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: saulgoode and 2 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  

* Login  

* Subscribe to Gimp Chat's RSS Feed    * Subscribe to Gimp Chat's Tutorial Feed    * Subscribe to Gimp Chat's G'MIC Feed


Powered by phpBB3 © phpBB Group