It is currently Sun Nov 23, 2014 4:39 am


Latest GIMP Scripts & Plug-ins

All times are UTC - 5 hours [ DST ]




Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 14 posts ]  Go to page 1, 2  Next
Author Message
 Post subject: Wacom bamboo with gimp?
PostPosted: Fri Nov 25, 2011 7:43 am  (#1) 
Offline
GimpChat Member
User avatar

Joined: Sep 12, 2011
Posts: 377
Location: UK
As some of you guys know that I've got the above mentioned! Has anybody done any painting with the tablet and how did you get on with it?

I have had a go with it this morning and it's harder then you think than using a mouse. I seen alot of speed painting but not really good tutorials for beginners like myself and few many others.

Dose anybody know of any tutorials for beginners in use the tablet please.

Thanks in advance


Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Orkut Share on Digg Share on MySpace Share on Delicious Share on Technorati
Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Wacom bamboo with gimp?
PostPosted: Fri Nov 25, 2011 9:03 am  (#2) 
Offline
GimpChat Member
User avatar

Joined: Nov 09, 2011
Posts: 702
Hello.
Do you use Windows or GNU/Linux?
First as any tablet, in GIMP you must go to "Edit" - "Preferences" "Input devices" "Configure extended input devices". Select your Wacom device and set it as "Screen" mode. Then the "Save" button. After that you learn to set brush dynamics.
I have a Genius tablet that is worse than Wacom, and I do not need do anything more than that for the tablet works better than a mouse.

_________________
Image
Be patient, English is not my language.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Wacom bamboo with gimp?
PostPosted: Fri Nov 25, 2011 9:14 am  (#3) 
Offline
GimpChat Member
User avatar

Joined: Sep 12, 2011
Posts: 377
Location: UK
No windows7 Oh thanks for that tip. I was wondering how to set up the brushes with wacom Bamboo.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Wacom bamboo with gimp?
PostPosted: Fri Nov 25, 2011 12:26 pm  (#4) 
Offline
Script Coder

Joined: Apr 10, 2011
Posts: 533
I use bamboo with GIMP. When you start GIMP it will automatically recognize your tablet if you have the drivers installed right.

Bamboo supports pressure sensitivity, which is the main advantage you get (besides the ergonomy of working with a pen) against a mouse. The best way to use it is to use the brush dynamics in the tool settings of the paintbrush etc. tools. You can set the pressure to control the size, opacity or colour of the brush.

For drawing lines, sketching, inking, etc. I usually use either the paintbrush or ink tool with pressure controlling the size of the brush.

For shading, I'll use the paintbrush with a soft brush and pressure controls the opacity.

Note that it takes some time to get used to using the tablet. When you draw on paper you see what you draw, but on a tablet you need to look at the monitor while your hand is in another place, and this requires some extra hand-eye coordination. It takes some practice before you get used to it.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Wacom bamboo with gimp?
PostPosted: Fri Nov 25, 2011 12:49 pm  (#5) 
Offline
Global Moderator
User avatar

Joined: Apr 07, 2010
Posts: 12415
I guess there are lots of Wacom tutorials out there if you search. Here is one I came across. This may help you get started.
Wacom Tutorial

_________________
Image


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Wacom bamboo with gimp?
PostPosted: Fri Nov 25, 2011 1:24 pm  (#6) 
Offline
GimpChat Member
User avatar

Joined: Sep 12, 2011
Posts: 377
Location: UK
What are brush dynamics settings? How do I scan a photo into gimp? Everytime I ckick on file>create>scanner/cramera. It says source? I was following a tutorlial that Molly had put in for me.

Thanks Molly


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Wacom bamboo with gimp?
PostPosted: Fri Nov 25, 2011 1:59 pm  (#7) 
Offline
Global Moderator
User avatar

Joined: Apr 07, 2010
Posts: 12415
Lorri, When you click on the brush tool in the tool box, you will see the brush dynamics, There is a little plus sign beside it, click that and the brush dynamics are below.
As far as the scan. I think, (correct me if I am wrong), you have to scan your image with a scanner if you have one, then open it in gimp. Your scanner would be your source.

_________________
Image


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Wacom bamboo with gimp?
PostPosted: Fri Nov 25, 2011 2:01 pm  (#8) 
Offline
Global Moderator
User avatar

Joined: Apr 07, 2010
Posts: 12415
Lorri, When you click on the brush tool in the tool box, you will see the brush dynamics, There is a little plus sign beside it, click that and the brush dynamics are below.
As far as the scan. I think, (correct me if I am wrong), you have to scan your image with a scanner if you have one, then open it in gimp. Your scanner would be your source.
Image

_________________
Image


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Wacom bamboo with gimp?
PostPosted: Fri Nov 25, 2011 2:04 pm  (#9) 
Offline
GimpChat Member
User avatar

Joined: Sep 12, 2011
Posts: 377
Location: UK
Oh I've got ya Molly thanks I do have a scanner but that's not set up on my pc yet.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Wacom bamboo with gimp?
PostPosted: Fri Nov 25, 2011 2:06 pm  (#10) 
Offline
Global Moderator
User avatar

Joined: Apr 07, 2010
Posts: 12415
Is your scanner part of your printer, like all-in-one type? You could always save your scanned image, then open it with Gimp.

_________________
Image


Top
 Profile  
 
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 14 posts ]  Go to page 1, 2  Next

All times are UTC - 5 hours [ DST ]


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 2 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  

* Login  

* Subscribe to Gimp Chat's RSS Feed    * Subscribe to Gimp Chat's Tutorial Feed    * Subscribe to Gimp Chat's G'MIC Feed


Powered by phpBB3 © phpBB Group