It is currently Fri Apr 19, 2024 6:15 pm

All times are UTC - 5 hours [ DST ]

Post subject: The future of editing.
PostPosted: Wed Apr 24, 2013 1:58 am  (#1) 
GimpChat Member

I believe that I mentioned node editing in the past (here and definitely elsewhere). Oscar (MediaChance) is working on just such an editor and, again, this is the future of editing. Layers are so yesterday. I had to use similar interfaces when I was an Electrical Engineer (used both Simulink and LabVIEW) so the interface is very intuitive to me. Self-documenting editors is going to be the next great thing to photo-editing sooner then later. You can also easily re-use your nodes since you can save them for just that. Oscar even is going to allow you to save the nodes as embedded meta data in jpegs (only adds maybe 30K or so the the file size) so your documented flow will actually be stored in the jpeg itself; fantastic stuff. Just wanted to share a screenshot (result is not so good; just getting familiar with the inteface). Being able to share a layer and branch out the layer to other controls then re-mix them is not such a trivial task in conventional editors such as Photoshop or GIMP but it is quite a trivial thing to do in a node editor such as Photoreactor. Click here for the main support thread for PhotoReactor. Hopefully Oscar will release this gem soon.

As a side note, I do know that node editors used in programs such as Filter Forge and PostworkShop Pro do exist now, but I do like Photoreactor's node interface better. I guess I do because it, from the get go, is geared to photo-editing at the start whereas PostworkShop is more geared to photo-art rendering and FilterForge for effect rendering. Anyway, your thoughts? I believe GEGL will give GIMP this gift of node-editing should the developers choose to add this feature for editing. :)

Psalm 109:8

Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Orkut Share on Digg Share on MySpace Share on Delicious Share on Technorati